Blount County Public Records Commission

Blount County Public Records Commission

Tennessee state law requires that each county appoint a public records commission consisting of certain members. Each county's commission must consist of at least six members; additional members are optional. Three of these positions are appointed by the County Executive/County Mayor, then must be confirmed by the County Commissioners. Of these three, one is to be a member of the county legislative body (County Commissioner), one a Judge of one of the courts in the county, and one a genealogist. In addition, certain county officials automatically become members by nature of the office they hold. These members are the County Clerk, Register of Deeds, County Historian and the County Archivist. Members remain on the board until their term in office expires, or they are deceased. All members have the same right and privileges, including voting rights.

The commission must elect a chairperson and a secretary and keep minutes of all its proceedings and transactions. Members are not paid a salary, except that any member who does not already receive a fixed annual salary from the state or the county "may" receive a $25 for each meeting. State law requires that the county public records commission meet at least twice a year.

Reference - Tennessee Code Annotated 10-7-401 county public records commission created - membership and 10-7-402 Organization of commission- compensation- meetings.

Current members of the Blount County Public Records Commission are:

Judge William R. Brewer, Jr.
General Sessions Judge, Div. III

Gaye Hasty - County Clerk

Phyllis Crisp - Register of Deeds

Justin McClure - Information Technology
Amanda Touchstone - Blount County Archivist and Records Manager
Ron French - County Commissioner
Ed Mitchell - Blount County Mayor
Tim Walker - County Genealogist
Mark Bennett - County Historian