Education Committee

The Education Committee meets with School Board Members and School Director and Supervisors to discuss issues concerning the county schools. This committee is a Standing (Internal) Committee of the Blount County Legislative Body. It is not required by statute and is established by the County Commission. Standing Committees usually have broad areas over which they are responsible for making studies and recommendations back to the full body. These committees continue their operation throughout the year and make periodic reports to the entire body concerning findings of the committee and recommendations on questions submitted to them. Standing Committees have no statutory requirements associated with them and have no independent power to act, and may only make recommendations back to the full county legislative body.

Members serve 1-year term. Appointed on September 21, 2023 by County Commission.  

Resolution 19-05-020 Restructured the Education Committee to be comprised of two (2) Blount County School Board members as ex officio non-voting members recommended by the School Board, confirmed by the Blount County Commission, and no less than five (5) but no more than nine (9) Blount County Commissioners, and the members shall be appointed annually in September by the Blount County Legislative Body.

Member                                  Title
Mike Akard County Commissioner 
Robbie Bennett County Commissioner
Brad Bowers County Commissioner 
Nick Bright County Commissioner
Misty Davis County Commissioner 
Jessica Hannah County Commissioner
Earl McMahan County Commissioner 
Steve Mikels County Commissioner 
Dawn Reagan County Commissioner 
Fred Goins Ex Officio, Non-voting School Board Member
Robby Kirkland Ex Officio, Non-voting School Board Member